Connect with us

Peter Machin steals the show to claim BDO Trophy title


Peter Machin steals the show to claim BDO Trophy title

Peter Machin steals the show to claim BDO Trophy title

Peter Machin was crowned BDO World Trophy champion for 2017, after a spectacular performance against Martin Phillips in the final.


Action at the Memo Arts Centre was fiercely contested throughout the final day of play, with the tournament favourite, Glen Durrant being knocked out by Wesley Harms in the quarter-finals. The Dutchman won seven consecutive legs to send the Middlesbrough man packing.

Martin Phillips survived an almighty scare in his quarter-final clash, as he took on wildcard pick Conan Whitehead. The Welsh captain hit back after a shaky start, and despite some late resistance from the Whitehead, Phillips booked his place in the semis, winning 7-6.

Nick Kenny made it through to first major semi-final, after seeing off Scotsman, Ross Montgomery. Kenny scored heavily against the no.11 seed, but got himself across the line despite some exceptional finishing from his opponent.

Peter Machin set up a semi-final clash with Harms after beating BDO icon, Martin Adams. The highlight of the match was a 170 checkout from the Australian, who was bidding to become a two-time finalist in successive years. Machin controlled the contest, and was always a step ahead of ‘Wolfie’.


Phillips beat his Welsh counterpart Nick Kenny in the first semi-final, with the BDO veteran showing signs of brilliance throughout the match. The 57-year old fought off the retaliation of Kenny, firing in two 180s in a 12-dart leg. Phillips, who is entering his final year on the international circuit, eventually secured the win with a shot at double-16.

Machin took on Harms in what was arguably the match of the tournament. The Australian only made it into the tournament as a WDF regional qualifier, but made a remarkable comeback from 4-0 down. His 122 outshot with the Bullseye killed off Harms’s momentum, and from there he fought on valiantly to secure a place in the final against Phillips.

The Women’s Final

The women’s bracket of the tournament was filled with surprised up and down the draw, as fans’ favourite Lisa Ashton was knocked out in the first round. As it was, the final was contested between Aileen De Graaf, who was hoping to secure her second major title, and Russian heavyweight, Anastasia Dobromyslova.

Dobromyslova beat the world no.2, Deta Hedman in the semi-finals, but the test of De Graaf proved one step too far for her in the final. De Graaf set the early pace in the encounter, and the Russian was always behind her opponent. The world no.2 did slip-up on a couple of occasions, but Dobromyslova was unable to take advantage of it as she missed twelve darts at double.

This gave De Graaf the opportunity to put the game to bed, and she did just that, hitting double 11 to clinch the BDO World Trophy title.

The Men’s Final

Machin made up for his loss in last year’s final in what was a thrilling encounter against Phillips. The pair went toe-to-toe in the opening exchanges, quickly cancelling eachother out after every leg. Phillips was the one who first took the game by the scruff of the neck, and went four legs clear in the match.

The Australian hit back, though, firing in a 149 to give the world no. 9 something to think about. The pair then continued to hold each-others’ throw, before Machin eventually seized the initiative in what proved to be the key moment of the match.

Machin added to his 149 and 150 checkouts with a 141, to make the game almost like a best of three legs. The pressure had started to take its tole on both players, but the ‘Machine’ was the one who held his nerve, taking the advantage of Phillips’s mistakes in the final leg.

The ‘Machine’ eventually fired in double two to seal his crown, avenging his defeat in the final 12-months ago, to become the first Australian to win a BDO major tournament since 2002.




Continue Reading

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Darts

To Top